Yes, I Just Stood Outside As A Gunman Went Through Uvalde School Halls

Police Badge to Protect. Blue Lights to notify. My uniform just to stand by and watch.

Chris Lopez
6 min readMay 30, 2022
Source: Self Created Image with Canva.

FEARFUL OCCUPYING THE FEARLESS

The title is what every police officer who wore a badge must stay who was not in the tactical unit at the Uvalde Texas shooting.

Seven uniformed police officers stood outside Uvalde Texas for an hour.

Think about that.

An hour.

Imagine hearing gunshots, children screaming, and teachers panicking. Then imagine the person you count on to do what you can’t doing the same thing as you.

You ask them to go save your child.

They respond by saying to calm down.

They have a gun, but the shooter has one too.

Everyone’s brave when they have a weapon and others don’t. Everyone’s courageous when a person can’t fight back. Everyone’s tough when they’re 100 lbs. heavier.

Seems like the cowards surfaced in this even fight.

I demonstrate bravery by doing. I went to the Man of War Crucible. That required bravery. I am a war veteran…

--

--

Chris Lopez

Professional Hustler turned International Best Selling Author of “I Made it Then I Didn’t”. I write Truths today to combat yesterday’s falsehoods.