What Is Retirement? It’s Not What You Dream. You Need A Perspective Shift.

I can’t wait until I finish my 20 years. I’m looking forward to retirement. Now you’re retired but it doesn’t feel like it?

Chris Lopez
6 min readNov 23, 2022
Source: Self Created Image with Canva.

RETIRED FROM MEANING

Many people have the means to live. Few have a meaning to live. There is a void in most people. Psychologist call this “Existential Vacuum”. Most have an unquenchable thirst. Nothing can wet their whistle. Time alone is time apart. Many curse their work. Their time is not their own. Once they gain control of their time, they curse their life. Boredom, depression and loneliness await most in retirement. It seems there’s no winning. How do you win a losing game?

Money.

You work your whole life for it.

If you’re reading this article, you were taught materialism. All there is to life is provisions. The modern world doesn’t discuss time.

Food, houses, and cars are your primary goals. Electricity, water, and taxes are your bills.

True. You must eat. You must live. You must shelter from the elements.

None can focus with the instability of safety. What happens when you gain this? Have you imagined a life where you don’t…

--

--

Chris Lopez

Professional Hustler turned International Best Selling Author of “I Made it Then I Didn’t”. I write Truths today to combat yesterday’s falsehoods.